Lodge online

Register for online access

How to lodge

Download paper forms

Search all forms

Search ASIC registers


Search financial services/credit licensees and representatives, liquidators, auditors and more

Professional registers


More information

Lodge online

decrease text size increase text size print page

ASIC senior executives

ASIC Chairman
ASIC Deputy Chair
ASIC Commissioners
Commission specialist teams
Investors and financial consumers
Registry and licensing
Regional Commissioners

Previous ASIC chairpersons
Organisational chart

ASIC Chairman

Greg Medcraft BCom (Melb)

Greg Medcraft was appointed ASIC Chairman on 13 May 2011 for a five-year term.

Greg joined as ASIC Commissioner in February 2009. Prior to ASIC, Greg was Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director at the Australian Securitisation Forum (ASF).

Greg spent nearly 30 years in investment banking at Société Générale in Australia, Asia, Europe and the Americas. More recently, he was the Managing Director and Global Head of Securitisation, based in New York.

In 2002, Greg co-founded the American Securitization Forum and was its Chairman from 2005 until 2007 when he returned to Australia. In January 2008, he was appointed Chairman Emeritus of the Forum.

Before joining Société Générale, Greg worked as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG.

Greg was elected by the IOSCO Board in May 2012 as its next Chair. His term commenced in March 2013. He was re-elected for a second term in October 2014. In his capacity as IOSCO Board Chair, Greg is also a member of the Financial Stability Board, which reports to the G20.

Appointment as ASIC Chairman

ASIC Deputy Chair

Peter Kell BA (Hons) (Syd)

Peter Kell commenced as Deputy Chair on 6 May 2013. Prior to this appointment he was Commissioner from 7 November 2011.

From August 2008 Peter was Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission. He was President of the International Consumer Protection Enforcement Network in 2009-2010, and also served on the Consumer Policy Committee of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Peter has been on the Australian Government Financial Literacy Board since its establishment, and is a member of the Commonwealth Consumer Affairs Advisory Committee.

Before joining the ACCC, Peter was Chief Executive of CHOICE (the Australian Consumers' Association) and a board member of the global consumer organisation Consumers International.

Between 1998 and 2004 he was ASIC’s Executive Director of Consumer Protection and its New South Wales Regional Commissioner.

Appointment as Deputy Chair, Treasurer's press release, 24 April 2013
Appointment as commissioner, Treasurer's press release, 20 October 2011

ASIC Commissioners

Greg Tanzer BEc and LLB (Hons) (ANU)

Greg Tanzer commenced as an ASIC Commissioner on 5 March 2012.

He served as Secretary General of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) from 2008 until early 2012.

Greg was previously Executive Director for Consumer Protection and International at ASIC, where he worked in various senior positions from 1992 to 2008.

Before joining ASIC, Greg worked in the Australian Government Attorney-General’s Department and the Department of Finance. He is a qualified solicitor and barrister.

Appointment as commissioner, Treasurer's press release, 20 October 2011

John Price BA, LLB (Hons)(Queensland)

John Price commenced as an ASIC Commissioner on 21 March 2012.

He has over 15 years regulatory experience in a variety of regulatory roles at ASIC relating to policy making, fundraising, mergers and acquisitions, financial services and products, licensing, insolvency and financial reporting and audit.

John was previously a member of CAMAC, an advisory body to Government on corporate and markets issues and he is a current member of the Financial Reporting Council, a body providing broad oversight of various accounting and audit related issues in Australia.

John is also a current member of the Council of Financial Regulators, the coordinating body for Australia's main financial regulatory agencies.

Prior to joining ASIC, John worked in the Gold Coast and Brisbane offices of Corrs Chambers Westgarth, a national law firm.

Appointment as commissioner, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer media release, 23 March 2012

Cathie Armour BEc, LLB (Hons) (ANU); LLM (Sydney)

Cathie Armour commenced as an ASIC Commissioner on 3 June 2013.

Cathie has 18 years experience in legal counsel leadership roles in international financial institutions. Most recently, she was General Counsel for Macquarie Capital and an Executive Director of Macquarie Group, advising on equity, debt and private capital markets, mergers and acquisitions and financial investment transactions. She has also held senior compliance and operational risk positions at Macquarie Capital and at JP Morgan in Australia. Before she joined ASIC, Cathie was also a member of the ASX Tribunal.

Cathie previously worked in private legal practice for the forerunners of the firms King & Wood Mallesons  and Allens  in Sydney and for Milbank,Tweed, Hadley & McCloy in New York.

Appointment as commissioner, Treasurer's press release, 24 April 2013

Commission specialist teams

TeamSenior Executive Leader
Chief Legal OfficerMichael Kingston
Corporate AffairsMatthew Abbott
People & DevelopmentHelen O'Loughlin

Strategy group

Senior Executive Leader: Greg Kirk
TeamSenior Executive Leader
Strategic PolicyAndrew Fawcett
Strategic IntelligenceMark Adams
International StrategySteven Bardy
Financial LiteracyMiles Larbey


Stakeholder teamSenior Executive Leader
Financial Reporting and AuditDoug Niven
CorporationsKate O’Rourke/Jane Eccleston
Emerging Mining and ResourcesJane Gouvernet
Financial Market InfrastructureOliver Harvey
Insolvency PractitionersAdrian Brown
Market and Participant SupervisionGreg Yanco
Enforcement teamSenior Executive Leader
Markets Chris Savundra
Enforcement (WA)Natalie Dürr

Investors and financial consumers

Stakeholder teamSenior Executive Leader
Investment Banks Chris Van-Homrigh
Investment Managers & Super FundsGerard Fitzpatrick
Financial AdvisersLouise Macaulay / Joanna Bird
Deposit Takers & Insurers & Credit ServicesMichael Saadat
Stakeholder ServicesWarren Day
Enforcement teamSenior Executive Leader
Financial Services Tim Mullaly

Registry and licensing

Senior Executive Leader
Registry Rosanne Bell
Registry TransformationKathrine Morgan-Wicks
Small Business Compliance and DeterrenceBrett Bassett


Senior officer
Chief of OperationsCarlos Iglesias
Chief Information OfficerWendy Bryant
Chief Financial OfficerEmily Hodgson
Corporate ServicesAmanda Dixon
Specialist ServicesJohn Wallace

Regional Commissioners

RegionRegional Commissioner
QueenslandBrett Bassett
VictoriaWarren Day
ACTPeter Cuzner
TasmaniaChris Green
Western AustraliaJane Gouvernet
South AustraliaMark Bielecki
Northern TerritoryDuncan Poulson
New South WalesChris Van-Homrigh

Back to to

decrease text size increase text size print page